Stolen Songbird

Stolen Songbird

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
For five centuries, a witch's curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when Cecile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined.
Publisher: New York :, Osprey Publishing,, 2014
ISBN: 9781908844972
Branch Call Number: Online eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file, rda
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jun 16, 2017

Cécile is kidnapped and sold to the trolls who have been trapped under the mountain for over 500 years. They marry her to their prince in hopes that she will be the one to break the witch's curse and free them for good.

This was a wonderful and well developed fantasy. It was a little slow in the beginning, and the pacing was a bit odd for me, but the story was so magical that I loved reading it. Cécile is a wonderful and well developed character. She longs to escape, but as she gets to know the trolls more she begins to sympathize with their plight, and longs to help the less fortunate among them.

I just wish it wasn't a series. I am starting to miss stand alone novels.

MedinaReads Mar 25, 2015

Stolen Songbird is a breathtakingly imaginative tale. Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped on her way home from the market and taken to a city she never believed existed- a city of trolls trapped beneath the mountain. The trolls believe that her marriage to the Crown Prince, Tristan, will break the curse set upon them and they will finally be free to roam the earth again. At first, Cécile thinks only of escape, but the more time she spends learning about the culture of Trollus and the unfair treatments of the half human half troll slaves, the more she learns about herself and embraces her new role. And it turns out that her new husband may not exactly be what she thinks he is. This book is fast paced and fascinating, a unique reimagining of the classic Beauty and the Beast tale. Readers who loved Seraphina and Graceling are sure to fall for this world and its characters as well. First in a planned trilogy. Recommended by S.A., Brunswick Library, MCDL

Dec 09, 2014

The book is essentially a historical romance with fantasy mixed in using a good bit of contemporary phrases and comments. Tristan acts like a wannabe rake (but w/o the string of love affairs) with a sensitive heart and Cecile is the feisty common girl he has fallen in love with.

I liked the book because the entire troll lore (the history, the politics etc.) is amazing. There is A LOT of stuff that needs to be explained and as we've barely scratched the surface behind the mystery of The Fall it can only get better.

May 14, 2014

Okay, kcram02, you make it sound totally weird, which it is not. It's actually a very good book, and not completely about trolls. I loved it and can't wait for the sequel!

May 13, 2014

This is a good book about trolls!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings


Find it at PEPL

To Top