Quicksand

Quicksand

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
A daring, brilliant new novel from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz, for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace: a fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends.

Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop. Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster. As Aldo's luck worsens, Liam is inspired to base his next book on his best friend's exponential misfortunes and hopeless quest to win back his one great love: his ex-wife, Stella. What begins as an attempt to make sense of Aldo's mishaps spirals into a profound story of faith and friendship.
With the same originality and buoyancy that catapulted his first novel, A Fraction of the Whole , onto prize lists around the world--including shortlists for the Man Booker Prize and the Guardian First Book Award--Steve Toltz has created a rousing, hysterically funny but unapologetically dark satire about fate, faith, friendship and the artist's obligation to his muse. Sharp, witty, kinetic and utterly engrossing, Quicksand is a subversive portrait of twenty-first-century society in all its hypocrisy and absurdity.
Publisher: Melbourne, Vic. :, Hamish Hamilton,, 2015
ISBN: 9780385683722
Branch Call Number: Online eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file, rda
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
avratt
Jul 27, 2018

After 3 chapters I lost all motivation to finish.

z
zedsonder
Feb 03, 2018

Toltz's work Quicksand has the same narrative style that draws together his previous work A Fraction of the Whole, mainly off beat characters with rich layers of language that reference to a wide range of topics. I found myself skimming back over the work at times to track down the references and musing on the way he weaves literary tales. His theme of following the down and out is followed again in this book and I found myself cheering for the outcast, laughing at the same time. At times a bit long winded, but when it finally winds down to the end the book shows you a reason for all the burps, farts, hiccups, pain and suffering that the main character goes through.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PEPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top